The Tupac Diet/Regimen

2pac-610x721

This is the way I interpreted a song lyric, you are free to take it or leave it.

A year or two ago I decided to adhere to something I call the Tupac diet/regimen. The diet is very simple and easy to modify based on your own personal needs and situation. The diet derived from a lyric in the song Changes

“ We gotta make a change, It’s time for us as a people to start making some changes, let’s change the way we eat, let’s change the way we live, and let’s change the way we treat each other, you see the old way wasn’t working so it’s on us to do, what we gotta do to survive”- Tupac Shakur

I had not been following my regimen but as I continue to shed the whopping 45lbs I gained during pregnancy it is something that I want to get back into. I find that this particular diet is better than other mainstream diets because it’s geared toward more than just ones eating habits. It’s a total package, and more of a lifestyle change than an actual diet, diet. I have broken it down into three parts,
*Eating habits “let’s change the way we eat…”
*Living Well “let’s change the way we live…”
*Treating Others Well “let’s change the way we treat each other…”

It seems like an appropriate time to reaffirm myself in the “Tupac Diet,” not only because of the birth of my son, but as I look at my parents who are struggling to change their eating habits that are deep fry rooted in southern traditions, I know that it’s important for me to get on the right path in order to try and avoid any similar health problems that they, their parents, siblings and thousands of other southern bred peoples and people of color deal with. Keep in mind healthy can be delicious…there’s no need to torture yourself. For me this means taking a good look at the food pyramid and making some common sense choices about what I put in my body…if it can clean a carburetor, clog a heart artery, are is the pickled foot of anything… I might need to stay away from it.

As I mentioned before this regimen can be geared towards your needs, this is important to keep in mind as you look at item 2 Living Well. As a Christian I try to follow the doctrine of my faith so for me a lot of how I approach this item is governed by that, if you’re not (I first encourage you to give it a try) but define living however you choose as long as you live well. Live each day to the fullest shouldn’t just be a cliché saying. Life and good health are a serious gift so why not appreciate them. Living Well is a very broad category with a lot of room for a lot of healthy maneuvering, so do what’s right for you, I do suggest that you incorporate listening to a lot of good music, doing some real make you pant physical activity for at least 30min a day (roller skating is a ton of fun and burns tons of calories) reading some interesting literature, praying, meditating and being creative to your well living regime, I find it works wonders for healthy mental and spiritual well being.

The last item is How You Treat Others, I think this ones pretty important. Like anyone else I have been guilty of treating people poorly at different times throughout my life, but this is a forgiving regimen so while you may fall short sometimes it’s important to keep working at it and not to get discouraged. This is a world full of people and connecting with them beyond social media is very important, this may be difficult for some I myself have very hermit like tendencies but you have to fight beyond that…connect with people and have meaningful relationships. A very wise friend of mine told me once, “not everyone deserves to be your friend” & a harsh lesson of my youth taught me that this is a very true statement so I believe you should choose your intimate circle carefully, that being said someone not being in your inner circle is not an excuse to treat them poorly. Everyone can be a teacher and every conversation can be a learning experience. The most important thing that I get from this is to live beyond yourself, there are a lot of people that need you and a lot of people that you need, and we should try to treat each other well, talk to each other with respect and help one another by being edifying not tearing one another down.

As I said before this is the way I interpreted a song lyric, I think it’s a good method to not just survive, but to live to the fullest. You are free to take it or leave it, take it as seriously as you want or disregard the whole thing, take it as a whole or break it down in a way that works for you like this works for me or as another song lyric I enjoy states,
“Oh you not feelin me? Fine; it cost you nothing pay me no mind.” Jay-Z

